Mar. 22nd, 2026 12:57 pm

improvements

serafaery: (Default)
[personal profile] serafaery
must be less depressed because i just put on makeup and contacts to go see a friend.

:)

I realized a few weeks ago that wearing glasses makes me feel terrrrrrrible, I need to wear contacts more often but I'm on my last pair (made 1 year of them last 2) and I'm overdue for an eye appt to get a refill.

(Hmm I wonder if they would refill them if I just called, I should ask.)

But, I want to try to make an effort to wear them more often. I can't wear them for work but for any social engagement it's really very helpful. Also being in nature. It's just so much nicer not to worry about glass falling off of my face, when bent over examining flowers. Also silks, I really hate not being able to see anyone's faces in the gym.

My stomach is in knots over pulling the trigger on the air conditioner installation contract. It's just so much money. Josh is like, "but it'll be 100 in July" and I keep thinking, "maybe window units could get us through?" uuuughhhh. It's more than I paid for my wedding! lol.

Cynthia makes us bike several miles including downtown. She doesn't know that today is peak cherry blossom day. I am not going to warn her. But I am going to force her to stop for photos when we get there :) Mwahahahaaaaa. (We do NOT have enough photos together.) I will stick flowers in her hair and kiss her face a lot. I love her so much.
Mar. 22nd, 2026 10:42 am

New to dreamwidth!

mesona: Anime-style girl with dark green hair (Default)
[personal profile] mesona posting in [community profile] addme

Name: Mint


Age: 22


I mostly post about: Daily life and hobby updates


My hobbies are: I enjoy Vocaloid music, Vtubers, Anime/manga, literature, birdwatching, knitting and crochet, playing rhythm games. I'm also a programmer and may bring up tech stuff occasionally. I'm learning to draw.


My fandoms are: Current hyperfixation is NBA (go Nuggets). I keep up with F1 casually. I follow paleontology and aviation news. Currently reading JJBA, Chainsaw Man, slowly watching Dark Winds. Check my About Me sticky for the full list of stuff.


I'm looking to meet people who: Are also writing personal journals and forming community. Besides that, people who write or read more structured content. Such as personal journal, hobby updates, recipes, guides, media reviews, short stories. Bonus if you're posting outside of America (I'm from Southeast Asia myself).


My posting schedule tends to be: Few times a week.


When I add people, my dealbreakers are: Obviously don't be bigoted, though I assume most people on this site aren't. Probably won't come up often, but I'm not a big fan of people who post inflammatory or reactionary takes.


Before adding me, you should know: I will probably be posting about experiences with mental/physical health stuff, as I am AuDHD and am working through cPTSD. It won't be my main topic, but just a heads up that some of my posts will be heavy, and they'll have a content warning if they are.

Mar. 21st, 2026 06:49 pm

let it go.

serafaery: (Default)
[personal profile] serafaery
Just wanted to add, I was feeling really guilty this morning for all of the sad posts here and on insta when I was so depressed for so long. It gives me a sliver of relief to express it, but I don't want to bring anyone down, it's always temporary and it will pass and it doesn't seem meaningful to push out the suffering onto others' eyes who are already struggling under the weight of the dark things of the world. I do even in my darkness try to also post light things, but I need to try harder, or stay more quiet, when I'm that down, or just, post more gently sad things, even when what I'm experiencing is shredding clawing gnawing unbearable pain. It's a ghost. The pain is real but the disease is not reality. It's sooooooooooo hard to believe this when in its grip.
serafaery: (Default)
[personal profile] serafaery
finally in the filing stage of taxes, it's slow-going but I can see the light, lol.

I took some deeeeep dives into rule pages on the irs website. I just really want to understand the self-employment tax forms as thoroughly as possible.

It sucks that it takes so much time but I just really want to understand that I'm doing everything right.

I know I am too tedious about this stuff. I literally will change things by $3 just to make sure it's as correct as possible, that's not a good use of my time but I like the feeling that I'm doing everything as correctly as humanly possible.

Taking better notes this time so that I don't struggle so much to find next year's info. I also paid an extra $8 for my "free" tax software to pull info from last year for me, I'm sure it's worth it, especially going forward - this year it's still a lot of manual entry due to moving.

I will need to do some IRA contributions before I'm done, I think, so not sure I can finish tonight, but I'll be close! Tomorrow should be the end, unless I hit some unforeseen major snag. So far everything is clicking into place really nicely, just, kinda slowly.

I spent some time with the laptop outside on the back patio and took a walk here and there and have been eating yummy things to keep me going like avocado toast and dried mango.

The eggs from the chickens up the hill are wonderful. Happy chickens! The shells are sturdy, always a good sign. The yolks are bright.

Okay back to it. Avalanche is in heaven with mom around in the house all day, this hasn't happened since my surgery recovery :) Usually I'm either away working, running errands, hiking, dancing, or silks-ing :)
Mar. 21st, 2026 09:28 am

much adultness

serafaery: (Default)
[personal profile] serafaery
Josh was away into the sunrise to go climb with friends at Smith Rock today. Avalanche and I have the house to ourselves!

I am set up in the dining room, ready to tackle taxes. I would LOVE to finish today!

The sunrise was so beautiful. The sky stayed pink and purple for an hour.

I love the new little door mat I got recently. The $3 snowman one I got at the thrift store was disintigrating, and I went for a slightly fancier new one and re-arranged the others and now they all match and fit well where they are, it's pleasant. My eyes are often on my toes so it's comforting when there is beauty there.

I am so pleased with Josh's little cozy corner on the couch, he loves the little space heater I got for that corner (there are two giant windows there so it's hard to keep warm), I researched the best kind that doesn't have any scent and this one is really perfect - the little one in my bedroom always smells a little like plastic but the couch one by Vornado never does.

Avalanche is staying down here with me, resting by her tunnel. Always nearby. My lil velcro cat :)

Had a nice catchup last night with Alessandra, I didn't get any sparkles but she says she will be around more so I will ask again when she's feeling better. I gave her tons. Also got to see Karissa and Ian, I want desperately to sparkle Karissa too but they took off just before we did and really there wasn't time. I will have to catch her again soon. But it was super nice to see them!

I discovered a headlight out and did the youtube thing and went to Autozone and bought a new pair and replaced it myself (they were very kind and gave me disposable gloves for the chore, after offering to help). What a cool feeling it was to turn on the lights and see it light up! The spare one is in my glove box waiting for the other bulb to go out :)

Mood feels fragile but still not low, more like, medium, I will take it!

...

Wanted to mention one thing that happened at the club Thursday. I often dance on the stage there, because there's more room and privacy (in that random people can't just touch me, I don't mind them looking), but I am mindful not to hog it because other people want to go up there for other reasons, and it's also just fun to mingle with the crowd, sometimes.

But because of the way I dress and maybe my confidence, I get a lot of attention and it's not always wanted.

So last night, this guy who's been coming around for a while, maybe my age, I've definitely caught him watching me and smiling more than a little, and he came up and started dancing with me and told me, "I've always thought you are SO beautiful!" which I thanked him for, but, as the song went on, he got closer and closer and sort of got up in my space a bit too much, which was too bad, because he seems nice enough, but it made me uncomfortable and I eventually had to shimmy away to another part of the dance floor, and made my way back to the stage.

Later, I saw him try this again with arguably the prettiest girl in the club. (She also happens to be trans. I only know this because we've talked a few times. She is very passing just visually, if you ignore her height.)

The interaction went more poorly for the guy hitting on her this time. She not only told him no, she told him to leave, and I saw her gesture angrily toward the door.

He immediately backed off, stayed on the other side of the room for a bit, and left after not too much time had passed.

And I just. Need to reflect on the stark contrast of our approaches in handling this guy's unwanted advancements.

I'm not saying either was right or wrong. It's just. I envy her ability to shut him down more forcefully. There's no reason I couldn't do that, it is a safe place for me to express my feelings and I have support there, I was surrounded by friends, Finley and Manders were both still there at the time, along with several other friends, and the staff also always has my back.

Why don't I be more direct and just claim my space?

Sigh.

...

Time to start werkin'.

...

Editing to add: Avalanche is now directly under my feet. :D hashtag velcrocat
delphi: An illustrated crow kicks a little ball of snow with a contemplative expression. (Default)
[personal profile] delphi
Continuing the queer short film recs, thanks to [personal profile] muscle_wizard sharing this one in my last post:



An older woman with a crush on someone in her circle approaches her younger co-worker for advice on how to ask out another woman for the first time. This really got me—charming and moving at the same time.
delphi: An illustrated crow kicks a little ball of snow with a contemplative expression. (Default)
[personal profile] delphi
Dandelion is a very sweet short film starring Ava Lalezarzadeh as Margaret, a queer teen in the foster care system in the 1970s, and Vic Michaelis as Joyce, the volunteer trying to find her a new placement after she's kicked out of convent school. The short's a lovely standalone, but I was really happy to hear it's being made into a full-length movie!

Mar. 19th, 2026 04:25 pm

feelin' like it's decaf

serafaery: (Default)
[personal profile] serafaery
ah, mood bounced back a bit. Sparkling was lovely, sometimes it's the most wonderful mood booster. This consistently happens when I sparkle people older than 70, Jean will be 80 next year and is amazingly fit, chipper, kind, wise, and all the magical things that only folks that age can offer.

Super tired though, had to pivot to solve problems unrelated to taxes so haven't been able to get to them today yet, and in three hours I need to start getting ready for the club, whoops :)

Guess I'll try again tomorrow! I'll chip away at them as much as I can for a bit while I'm here and settled in for work at the cafe, with a delicious decaf - I have long villainized decaf, but now that I am old it's exactly what I need, haha, how life consistently humbles me :)

Vague headache. A little bit tired and stressed.

Sunrise was beautiful this morning. It rises a little too early for me these days, Avalanche wakes with it and gently mews to let me know when the vivid pinks start showing up.

I have found an immense amount of joy in three recent Huberman Lab videos - the one on hearing loss (the tinnitus info was so enlightening and helpful!), the one on addiction, and I just started one about meditation that is WONderful. I want to get this guy's book maybe (a href="https://www.simonandschuster.com/books/Born-to-Flourish/Richard-J-Davidson/9781668066232">Born to Flourish. (I very much loved his anecdote of the mountaintop monk who explained that he was a monk meditating in remote mountains because he needed to, he thought maybe some people don't need to, but his mind was in some ways weaker, so he needed to do this extreme practice - I love this concept of realizing that one's composition is such that we need meditation or other spiritual/nourishing practices in order to flourish, and that maybe not everyone has the same needs in this regard, we are all different and have different needs and that's okay, and maybe we can give ourselves permission to pursue those practices if we are not flourishing without them.)

Science based meditation tools to improve brain health

How to overcome addiction

Improve and protect hearing
glowingfish: (Default)
[personal profile] glowingfish
A lot going on, so this might seem pretty random:

You probably know this old sitcom plot/trope, even if you can't think of a specific example:
Elementary school kid is in a play or has a ballet or piano recital or some other young person activity. Workaholic father (and yes, usually the male parent) promises to come, but suddenly something comes up with work so kid is crushed, looking out at the audience and searching for an absent parent.

Did this ever really happen? Was this something kids actually worried about or would have been harmful?

For context, I was born in 1979, and I might have been one of the last cohorts of free-range children. I wasn't part of any organized activities, and I didn't have any lessons, as a child. We played in the woods or dug holes or played indoors with action figures. Also, my parents divorced when I was 5. So my prime elementary school years, 6-8, were spent happily inventing and playing in my own world, sometimes by myself, sometimes with neighborhood kids. As much as there were big events at school, I would have seen them as a chore or a bother.

I guess the reason that this is important is that as a child, I formed my sense of self around my imagination, and around spontaneous games. But I guess for some children, that was formed around a more formal social world, and having parental/social confirmation was important?

Obviously, of course, this is a plot point, but is it/was it close to reality for some children?
Mar. 19th, 2026 09:36 am

plunge.

serafaery: (Default)
[personal profile] serafaery
erf mood crashed this morning, so frustrating. I was meditating with my coffee, a delightful experience, and suddenly got tearful over my mother's hands, and then that orca that carries around her dead calves (why I stopped eating salmon and most all seafood save sardines and clams).

sigh.

I will get through it, I'm just annoyed. It seems like I should not spend 90% of the time depressed. :(

But. I am a work in progress. I will never stop trying. And I have to accept that this is how today will be, and adjust my expectations accordingly.

Sparkling will be a nice distraction, taxes will also serve to keep me occupied. It's a good day to go visit mom's bench in the park, since I'm already too sad for it to make me feel worse, and it might bring some comfort. A grief meditation there might be helpful, today.

Also Shadowplay is tonight! I'm hoping (sorry DJ) that the crowd is a little thin since there was just a big show and my DJ played Tuesday night. Either way, it'll help.

Let's see if I can finish taxes today, that would be amazeballs.
glowingfish: (Default)
[personal profile] glowingfish
Got up, read a bit, walked along the beach, came home, stared at my email. I have about an hour to get up and go to the Dollar Tree before it gets dark.
And uh, I had other things to say.
Mar. 18th, 2026 04:41 pm

dopamine crashes

serafaery: (Default)
[personal profile] serafaery
Been working outside all day, was at the cafe but got driven out by school kids, so I'm in the back yard on the deck now. I got a lot done on taxes, the a/c stuff, and other work communications, but omg I am flagging. It's just suuuuuuch a pretty afternoon and Avalanche is sooooooooo cute in the daffodils omg and I just want to bask in the warm peacefulness and not do tax forms! lol.

I will get back to it, it's just stressful. I cannot wait for it to be DONE.

Maybe I need to move inside but this is SO NICE lol.

The birds are so cute! I am brushing Avi every day and leaving tufts of fur on the fence for the birds and seeing them grab little bits of it is the best. The Bewick's Wrens are especially busy collecting nesting materials rn. The junco bullies keep pestering them but they come back, undeterred :)
Mar. 17th, 2026 10:26 pm

sleepy tuesday night

serafaery: (Default)
[personal profile] serafaery
got a lot done on taxes, but still so much more to go. so many added complications this year. self-employment taxation is so difficult to manage. I did get some helpful forms regarding quarterly estimates, that's nice.

mood has dropped from good to okay, but I will take it, it's still sooooo much better than it has been for so many weeks. I still don't have the energy to dance, my DJ is doing a special night to night for an afterparty that would have been super fun. But I have a headache, and a rib that keeps going out and takes my breath away when it's hurting like this. I will snuggle up with a heating pad and call it a day.

Josh and I took a really nice walk before sunset, and met the guy who has all the chickens. Brian. The chickens are so cute. They ran over to check us out when I talked to them.

Maybe I can dance Thursday. I am going to try really hard to get my prep forms completed so that I can work on submitting taxes this week, I'd really love to get this over with by Thursday or Friday at the latest.

The blanket I wanted to buy Natasha isn't available in Canada and I'm sad. It costs more than the price of the blanket to ship it up there, also sad. There is a similar one but the wrong color on the Canadian website, for twice the cost, erf.

I've been obsessed with gifting on my self-care app lately, it allows us to send gifts to other birbs on our "tree." It's addictive.

I'm still using the free version but I would have gladly paid for the "spring cleaning challenge" they had us do, I did all of the challenges and it was extremely helpful, it helped me get over blockages with changing bedsheets and cleaning the toilet (I don't let it get bad but it definitely could use more regular attention), cleaning out the fridge and pantry and wiping down mirrors and light switches, stuff like that I just never do unless I'm in a mad deep cleaning frenzy, and those only happen every six months or so - some of the chores are things I do all the time, like laundry and vacuuming, but things like "throwing out expired toiletries" were really helpful, I found pill bottles from 2018, whoops!

If I paid for the app, I could send more gifts to more friends. I'm not sure if this is distracting me from the goals, though, so I'm still on the fence about buying it. I'll keep thinking about it :) Finch is wonderful either way, really grateful for that little app.
serafaery: (Default)
[personal profile] serafaery
Was a busy house keeping morning, managing the gutter cleaning and cooking for Josh and tidying up some messes I'd let get away from me, but very productive and I'm now settled in at the cafe with a delicious latte from the incredibly gorgeous and also very sweet barista named Sulema(sp?), she often has spiky metal on her face or hair or clothing and a neat spiky septum piercing but a soft, gentle voice and a big warm smile, she's got a cute pink crop top today, I'm not used to seeing her in a bright color.

I actually feel good for the first time in I don't even know how long. I mean, I've had brief moments here and there of happiness or relief, esp. outdoors when I feel okay or like that moment communing with the earth in the desert in Red Rock Canyon, but this hit me on a bike ride last night and is still here a solid 18 hours later.

It's back to a soft drizzle and overcast skies today but yesterday it was sunny and hit 70. This often happens, where I'm depressed for a long spell late in winter and then it breaks with the first warm sunny day. And I feel embarrassed, as it appears I have the emotional complexity of a plant. Just put me in the sun for a bit and I'll be fine, I guess.

I almost pulled the trigger on getting a SAD lamp a couple weeks ago, still something worth considering. But I'm realizing all of these non-drug tools for depression just barely take the edge off. The really excellent therapist, vitamin D, the daily morning outdoor light (even cloudy) exposure, exercise, sobriety, being in nature, omega 3 supplements, estrogen, friendship/connection, anti-inflammatory foods, dancing, it all does about as much as an aspirin would do for a broken leg. It's not nothing, but I keep thinking if I find the magical combination, or if I consistently do *all* of it, every day, I'll figure this out and fix this chronically uncomfortable condition.

I am going to add in weekly group therapy (same therapist), and I will also incorporate creatine as that apparently might have some benefits. I'll keep trying. What else is there to do.

It was a little discouraging listening to a really interesting episode on Huberman about addiction, he was saying as the brain ages, it's harder to learn new things, including getting addicted to stuff - that is, it's really unusual for someone in their 50s or older to develop a new addiction. It's something that happens when the brain is more plastic.

But this also means that un-learning depression may keep getting more difficult as I age, which is a depressing (ha) thought. I have heard, though, that menopause is especially triggering and that many women experience a big improvement in mood when they complete this transition. Their mental health on average gets better. Here's hoping.

...

I wanted to write about my day, yesterday.

I got up with the sun yesterday and tried (failed) for a favorite lookout tower, fed Avalanche, had my morning light time with the birds, as the sun slowly came out. I have made a routine of brushing Avalanche outside every morning, she absolutely loves it and expects it, now.

I had to pivot when I checked my calendar because I thought I had yesterday off but no, I had a full day of sparkling scheduled. The rest of the week I set aside for taxes, but I did not set aside Monday, I forgot. But I was able to adjust easily and still cooked breakfast and lunch for Josh and myself and baked banana bread and got out the door in plenty of time for work.

I had a nice easy kind fun delightful batch of customers.

During my coffee break, the sun came out in earnest and it was sooooooooo warm, I sat outside and nibbled my snacks and basked in it.

My last customer and I are both the same age and commiserated over our menopause joys, and also were losing our minds over the beauty and warmth of the sunshine. It was fun. I gave her way too many sparkles and was happy to do so. She's going to a music festival at the Sphere in Vegas in a couple of weeks and wanted to be sparkly for it.

Considered going to the park where mom's memorial bench is after work to soak up the sun but that sounded too sad, so I came home instead to ship out a giant order I received that morning, the traffic wasn't too bad and Avalanche was soaking up the sun happily when I got back, Josh decided to show off his new very small battery powered lawn mower for me, he's so cute in his excitement over being able to care for our very small yard, it's sweet. He's allergic to grass so wears an N95 when he mows, pretty cute.

I got my order packaged up and dropped it off at the post office here locally, the Tigard post office is really great, stuff ships faster from here than it ever did when I was in Portland proper. The hours are better, too. Got some much-needed groceries after, and still had some sunshine left when I was done with my chores, so I decided to hop on my bike and try to get up to the water tower on the hill to the east of us before sunset.

This ride involves some pretty steep hills and is a little over 2 miles but has about 500' of elevation gain, maybe a little more depending on the route. So it's not a big ride but it's a really nice little workout.

Everyone was out walking their dogs, the light was beautiful, traffic was light, I took some cute photos at the water tower and the park just below it for Joshter.

Here is a shot of our star magnolia out front:


Arrival to the water tower:


Sunset:


Basking:


This route was something I found by walking, I just wanted to go for a walk one day and aimed uphill until I reached the park. (I found the water tower a bit higher up past the park on my bike later.)

Along this route, is a house with about 30 chickens in their yard. On a dry-erase board in their driveway reads, "farm fresh eggs, $5, in fridge" and there is an old fridge outside under an awning. Josh checked this fridge a month or two ago and found nothing, but it was mid-winter, so I brought a carton and some padding on my ride last night and skipped buying eggs at the grocery store in hopes the ladies may have started laying.

Success!



There were like 10 dozen eggs in there, so this might be our spring/summer egg supply going forward :)

This suburb has no limit on the number of chickens one can have. People have geese and goats and I have smelled signs of other farm animals around on this route. We are definitely not in the city anymore, lol.

...

I was soooooooooooooo happy the rest of the night. I changed my bed sheets and did laundry, ate a beautiful dinner, learned some really interesting things about tinnitis that is really helpful actually for dealing with it, and also hearing loss and protection in general, an interesting podcast on Alzheimer's, sent some messages to some people I care about.

I think part of my joy came from us going on a hike together in the sunshine on Sunday, we had to drive an hour and 40 minutes to get out of the clouds but we did find sun eventually, I took Josh to Columbia Hills state park and we admired the Lewis' woodpeckers and were serenaded by western meadowlarks. It's a little early for wildflowers so there was barely anyone out there, so we had a lovely lunch by ourselves on a boulder with a gorgeous view of the river and the mountain. Home made pizza and pumpkin pie (I baked it for pi day). Afterward we crossed the road to Horse Thief Butte and Josh got some bouldering in, my little monkey:


(he had the crash pad below him, and was climbing things he was fully capable of climbing. But still. eep!)

Horse Thief Butte is gorgeous, we had fun scrambling around and enjoying views of the Columbia Gorge, the weather turned and dropped a couple of tiny raindrops on us but nothing bothersome, it was a really pretty place to just hang out and watch Josh climb stuff. I encouraged him to do one that was a little spicy and he got a surge of adrenaline, I'm glad he pushed himself, I think it's really good for his well-being, it was nothing he couldn't handle but he had to work at it. It was fun to watch.

...

small food-related rant )

...

I worry about Josh a little bit. My sex-drive is still nonexistent and I thought I might have overheard him crying a little bit last night, after trying to test out whether I might be feeling sexy last night. He saw me all happy and glowing from the bike ride and got hopeful. But I still don't feel anything. And it's really not as easy as I would hope to just mess around with him in other ways even though I'm not feeling it. It's revolting and I wish that weren't the case. Poor thing. I wish I could fix it. I am trying. I went back to using creams and suppositories again to try to help. They don't always do anything, but if I don't use them I definitely have less of a chance of getting there. It's super frustrating, because not wanting sex also makes me not want to want it, somehow? My body doesn't want me to use the creams and stuff, it just wants me to let it be left alone and untouched. It's super difficult to force myself to try to "fix" it. When everything in my body just wants this part of my life to no longer exist. It's a hard experience to talk about or describe or explain. I don't miss sex or feeling sexy or feeling desire, but I am sad for my partner. I feel guilty and like I'm letting him down.

...

It's interesting to me that I have become so much more functional in the last two years - I blame therapy directly for this - I am better at keeping up with the house, I'm better with big scary financial things like BUYING A HOUSE omg, better at dealing with difficult family members and avoiding people who mean me harm, SO much better with the mild emotional hoarding issues (they're still there but so much more manageable), better at dealing with medial stuff to some extent (I do need to schedule a blood draw and my colonoscopy and have been delaying those for long enough), I'm doing my own taxes now, work is going well, friendships and relationships are solid. My therapist noted that I did a good job standing up for myself and holding a boundary in Vegas when I asked to try a different room when our first unit smelled so badly of cleaning chemicals, and didn't make a fuss even when Josh criticized me for not handling that situation better (yes I used some dramatic language about it making me sick, I may have verbalized the possibility of sleeping in the car, but my voice was never raised and I only asked to try and see if another room might be better, never that I would throw a fit if I didn't get what I wanted).

But I'm still so completely broken in other ways. I can't keep up with laundry, my room/office/closet bathroom in the house is still not set up and half in boxes and totally neglected and I continue to avoid dealing with it, I still can't brush my teeth or shower consistently or floss, or wash my face, I struggle to keep up with medications and supplements still (even though the last two days have been better, aside from forgetting my vitamin D and my estrogen yesterday, sigh), I am not great at keeping up with people socially face to face, though I am getting better at messaging, I still collapse into a puddle in waves of overwhelming grief regularly, my depression is soooooooooooooooooooooo bad I have to drag myself through most of my days - this is the first day that hasn't felt like that in forever - I'm addicted to saltines randomly (I am trying to detox from them this week), I have been crawling into bed and avoiding life by 8pm every night for weeks. (Last night was the first night in a very long time I was up until maybe 9:30pm.) So much of everyday function feels too hard for me to manage, even though I'm so much better than I was, in other ways. So frustrating and confusing.

...

I am still on the fence about whether home ownership was a good idea or not. I paid like $300 for gutter cleaning today, I will have to do that annually. There is a little bit of water seepage in the crawl space, I will have to mitigate that for mold annually. I am getting all kinds of pressure to replace the furnace. So many thousands of dollars of maintenance every year. People act like renting is throwing away money but I don't think people are factoring in the cost of maintenance when they pencil out ownership vs renting. This suuuuuuuuuuuuuuux lol.

I LOVE having a yard for Avalanche, though. Her quality of life has improved dramatically and she is exponentially happier, it's obvious. I enjoy not worrying about lead paint whenever another cupboard starts to chip. It's really nice having our own laundry that is not coin operated and actually gets our clothes clean. And the dishwasher is pretty magical.

There are downsides but I won't get into it too much. It's double the driving for me. I just am not sure it pencils out, but am trying really hard to focus on the good bits. We enjoy the westerly view from Josh's rooms, and I'm grateful for my new cat sitters.

...

I still need to decide what to do about air conditioning, but today is for taxes, time to get working on those.
delphi: An illustrated crow kicks a little ball of snow with a contemplative expression. (Default)
[personal profile] delphi
Fandom 50 #4

Continuing my list of fifty Canadian songs I love from the past fifty years, how could I kick off the '80s and not go for some pulpy lesbian new wave?

High School Confidential by Rough Trade
delphi: An illustrated crow kicks a little ball of snow with a contemplative expression. (Default)
[personal profile] delphi
The first season of Star Trek: Starfleet Academy just wrapped up, and man, that was a season of television that did my heart good.

I didn't initially think this show was going to be for me. Hopefully it goes without saying that this wasn't for any of the range of awful reasons people have wanted to hang a grievance or grift on it. Media with protagonists in their teens and twenties just usually aren't my thing, and so while I was glad to see Trek branching out, I went in aware I wasn't the target audience and figured I'd watch an episode or two to see if any of the older characters appealed to me.

Well, they definitely did. Free-spirited, complex, centuries-old school chancellor Nahla Ake might be my favourite character I've met this year. I am in love with her. The Doctor (from Voyager) and Jett Reno (from Discovery) are both back in supporting roles with some really wonderful scenes, and Jett has a hot and hilarious Klingon/Jem'Hadar wife (Lura Thok) who is definitely worth moving across the galaxy for.

But to my surprise, I also really love the kids! Not all the moments landed for me, but I ended up legitimately invested in their coming-of-age stories and journey into becoming a little family. I don't want to spoil some of the things I loved, but I am always here for mentorship, adoptive parent-child relationships, and queer romance, and I wasn't disappointed. Add in some good solid science fiction and a lot of classic Trek optimism and belief in the work of building a better world, and this was exactly what I needed right now. My only real complaint is that it was such a short season.

Profile

in_sufficientdata: An orange cat that looks like Data's cat Spot maybe makng a weird face (Default)
in-sufficientdata